Navajo Nation Council confirms the permanent appointment of Cynthia Thompson as District Court Judge
facebook Share on Facebook
Navajo Nation Council confirms the permanent appointment of Cynthia Thompson as District Court Judge
WINDOW ROCK – On Thursday, with a vote of 15-1, the Navajo Nation Council confirmed the permanent appointment of Cynthia Thompson, who is originally from the community of Del Muerto located near Chinle, to serve as a Navajo Nation District Court Judge.

Council Delegate Kee Allen Begay, Jr. (Low Mountain, Many Farms, Nazlini, Tachee/Blue Gap, Tselani/Cottonwood) sponsored Legislation No. 0006-17, which sought the permanent appointment based on a recommendation issued by the Law and Order Committee through a resolution passed in Sept. 2015.

Delegate Begay stated that the Law and Order Committee has made the appointment of probationary and permanent judges a top priority in order to fill vacant positions that often hinder the progress and work of the Navajo Nation’s 13 Judicial Districts.

Acting Chief Justice Allen Sloan, who joined Delegate Begay and Thompson as they presented the legislation before Council, also issued a favorable recommendation for the permanent appointment and asked for the Council’s support. He also noted that the Navajo Nation has a total of 17 judge positions, however, only 11 are currently filled including Thompson’s position.

Speaking in the Navajo language, Thompson said that she sees the position as a way of giving back to the Navajo people and helping communities. She added that her years of working as a probationary judge and working with schools and community members have provided her with an understanding of the struggles, obstacles, and issues that affect the Navajo people.

Thompson also stressed the importance of viewing issues from a traditional perspective while upholding the laws of the Navajo Nation.

In accordance with Title 7 of the Navajo Nation Code, Thompson was required to serve a two-year probationary period as a Navajo Nation judge. She has served with the Dilkon Judicial District since Oct. 2014.

LOC chair Council Delegate Edmund Yazzie (Churchrock, Iyanbito, Mariano Lake, Pinedale, Smith Lake, Thoreau) and other LOC members joined Thompson as she was sworn-in by acting Chief Justice Sloan following the Council’s approval of the legislation.

“On behalf of the Law and Order Committee, we congratulate Judge Thompson and her family and we look forward to continuing to help the Judicial Branch to improve public safety and the Nation’s judicial process,” Delegate Yazzie stated.

More Articles By This Author
Responses (0)
No response for this article yet.
Your Reply

Specify a password to lock discussions to only users who has the password.